The Southeastern Conference is adding the Las Vegas Bowl and the Gasparilla Bowl to its slate of bowl games beginning with the 2020 season, the SEC announced Tuesday.

The Independence Bowl will not retain its SEC affiliation after this season.

The changes are part of a six-year extension with the conference’s 10 affiliated bowls, which include the Citrus, Outback, Gator, Music City, Texas, Liberty, Belk and Birmingham bowls.

The SEC will have a tie-in with the Belk Bowl in 2021, 2023 and 2025. The Las Vegas Bowl will take an SEC team in 2020, 2022 and 2024. The SEC and Big Ten Conference will alternate facing a Pac-12 Conference opponent at the new NFL stadium for the Las Vegas Raiders.

Previously, the Las Vegas Bowl held affiliations with the Mountain West Conference and Pac-12. The Gasparilla Bowl, played in the Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ Raymond James Stadium, has previously featured teams from Conference USA and the American Athletic Conference.

Since joining the SEC in 2012, Texas A&M has participated in the Cotton Bowl, Chick-Fil-A Peach Bowl, Liberty Bowl, Texas Bowl, Belk Bowl and Gator Bowl.

Get daily news, sports, opinions, entertainment and more, delivered every morning.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.