Cougars take down Marshall

College Station High School linebacker Mark Wagner (40) tackles Marshall quarterback Kacey Barnett (4) Friday night, Dec. 2, 2016, at a playoff win against Fort Bend Marshall High School, in Prairie View, Texas.

With three Bryan-College Station teams occupying four of District 18-5A’s playoff spots, it shouldn't come as a surprise that B-CS schools were well-represented on the all-district team. 

College Station senior linebacker Mark Wagner was voted the district’s Defensive Player of the Year, A&M Consolidated sophomore defensive lineman Joshua Ellison was voted Defensive Newcomer of the Year and College Station’s Steve Huff was voted Coach of the Year

“I think it means a lot to our program,” said Huff, on winning 18-5A’s Coach of the Year. “We obviously had some good players and a great staff -- great group of coaches. This award goes to everybody [in our program]. It’s nice to be recognized, but at the same time, we had a core group of guys who were here from the very beginning. I congratulate them just as much as anything.”

Ellison burst onto the scene for the Tigers this season, leading them with six sacks to go with 10 tackles for a loss, which ranked third on the team. Wagner was third in the Brazos Valley with 128 regular-season tackles and pushed his total to 175 leading into the Class 5A Division II semifinals.

“[Wagner is] a guy that’s been a ballhawk for us for four years,” Huff said. “He’s one of those program-type guys. He works his tail off in the weight room, he works his tail off in the summer. He’s a fun young man to coach.”

Temple quarterback Reid Hesse was voted the district’s Offensive Player of the Year and Wildcats wide receiver D’Yonte Heckstall was voted Offensive Newcomer of the Year. Temple made it to the Class 5A Division I Championship. 

Despite starting the season at wide receiver, College Station’s Marquez Perez was voted the district’s first-team quarterback. He took over for Ty Brock during Week 2 after Brock suffered a broken left fibula.

“It was heartbreaking to watch [Brock] go down,” Perez said. “ We had a great connection when I was playing receiver. Once he got injured, I knew I had to do my job -- go out there and execute and just be me.”

College Station, which lost to Corpus Christi Calallen in the Class 5A Division II semifinals, the longest playoff run in school history, led all schools with five players voted to the district’s first-team offense.

Along with Perez, wide receivers Eric Peterson and Braden Tschirhart, offensive lineman Jeremiah Williams and kicker Ryan Bowersox represented the Cougars on the first-team offense.

Consol led all B-CS schools with five first-team defense selections, including safety Kolby Peel, linebackers Jason Jasperson and Trevor Williams, defensive lineman Jared DeFriend and cornerback Tyon Merchant.

Bryan offensive lineman Garrison Tullos and wide receiver Joseph Hedge represented the Vikings on the first-team offense, while linebacker Roderick Crenshaw and safety Gus Hancock were voted to the first-team defense.

Defensive lineman Alex Arevalo represented Rudder on the first-team defense.

Here’s a complete look at 18-5A’s all-district team:


Offensive POY

Reid Hesse Temple Sr. 

Offensive Newcomer

D'Yonte Heckstall Temple Jr. 

Defensive POY

Mark Wagner CSHS Sr. 

Defensive Newcomer

Josh Ellison Consol Soph. 

Coach of the Year

Steve Huff CSHS


Center/O-line (1st team)

Zach Ruiz Consol Jr.

Jeremiah Williams CSHS Jr.

Garrison Tullos Bryan Sr.

Andreas Sustaita Univer Sr.

Ajani Rogers Temple Sr.

QB (1st team)

Marquez Perez CSHS Jr.

RB (1st team)

Robert Franklin Consol Sr.

Terrance Hamilton Waco Jr.

Nick Ward Univer Sr.

WR (1st team)

Tony Williams Consol Sr.

Braden Tschirhart CSHS Sr.

Zaccheus Johnson Temple Sr.

TE/H-Back (1st team)

Zack Rumfield Temple Sr.

Kicker (1st team)

Ryan Bowersox CSHS Sr.

Return Specialist (1st team)

Eric Peterson CSHS Sr.

Punter (1st team)

Jared Wiley Temple Soph.

DT/NG (1st team)

Alex Arevalo Rudder Sr

Nakaveyon Vincent Waco Jr

Robert Jackson Temple Jr.

Lamonte Williams Temple Sr.

DE (1st team)

Jared Defriend Consol Sr. 

Taqon Graham Temple Sr.

La'Daidreain Glasker Waco Sr.

Marquise Conchola CSHS Jr.

Inside LB (1st team)

Trevor Williams Consol Jr.

Roderick Crenshaw Bryan Sr.

Dwain Richie Waco Sr.

Rogers Franklin Temple Sr.

Outside LB (1st team)

Jason Jasperson Consol Sr.

Anthony Flores CSHS Sr.

Dejour Silmon Waco Sr.

Monto President Temple Soph.

CB(1st team)

Tyon Merchant Consol Sr.

DJ Taylor Waco Sr.

BJ Sculark Temple Jr.

Quandree White CSHS Jr.

Safeties(1st team)

Kolby Peel Consol Jr.

Reece Easterling CSHS Sr. 

Gus Hancock Bryan Jr. 

Damion Mangum Waco Jr. 

Ben Norman Temple Sr. 

Center/O-Line (2nd team)

Reid Francis Consol Soph.

Josh Donovann CSHS Sr. 

Colton Campbell Bryan Jr. 

Bailey Reid Rudder Sr. 

Cameron Guttierez Waco Sr. 

Kyle Fort Temple Sr. 

QB (2nd team)

Cade Williams Consol Jr. 

RB (2nd team)

Chris Monroe CSHS Sr. 

Hunter Batten Bryan Sr. 

Zion Leach Temple Jr. 

WR (2nd team)

Steven Ray Consol Soph. 

Jaelin Campbell CSHS Jr. 

Ladarius Johnson Rudder Sr. 

Ray High Waco Sr. 

Xavier Johnson Temple Jr. 

TE/H-Back (2nd team)

Jermire Townsend Bryan Jr. 

Grant Johnson Consol  Sr. 

Kicker (2nd team)

Cade Williams Consol Jr. 

Angel Quiroga Bryan Jr. 

DT/NG (2nd team)

Jaelin Bell Bryan Jr. 

KeKe Anderson CSHS Jr. 

DE (2nd team)

Matt Rusk CSHS Jr. 

Corey Ebron Waco Soph. 

AJ Gulley Temple Sr. 

Inside LB (2nd team)

Jonathan Sylvester Consol Sr. 

Timothy Harmon CSHS Sr. 

Luke Wallis Bryan Jr. 

Antoine Holiday Temple Soph. 

Jordan Perez Univer Sr. 

Outside LB (2ndteam)

Abel Daily Consol Sr. 

Dylan Carnes CSHS Sr. 

Daelon Webb Waco Sr. 

CB(2nd team)

Chase Martinez Consol Jr. 

Jarren Jones CSHS Sr. 

Marquin Deaver Univer Sr. 

Dalvin Fillmore Temple Jr. 

Safeties(2nd team)

Jordan Woodard Consol Jr. 

Brandon Joseph CSHS Soph. 

Edward McFloyd Waco Sr. 

Ashton Logan Temple Sr. 

Punter (2nd team)

Michael Stimson Waco Jr. 

Honorable Mention

A&M Consolidated

Burl Carraway WR

Keenan Robinson OL

JR Matlock DL


Mason Ray QB

Ylijah Hall OL

Ryan Boyle C

Christian Hernandez DT

Andrew Bailey OLB

Landon Plagens OLB

College Staiton

Harrison Wellmann WR

DaDa Anderson RB

David Hahn OL

Ben Wolz DE


Jokobe Nutall OL

Pedro Garcia OL

Devarion Guyton RB

Jaden Luna WR

Bradley Bayer DE

Demarcus Dates CB

Hayden Muth S

Kaidrion Latson U


Ryan McKenzie OL

Anthony Jefferson RB

Jemiyah Franklin RB

Terrance Johnson WR


Josh Walker OLB

Terry Murphy DT

Kory Moore DB

Cedric Willis DE

Karon Hall DB

Jeraimah Walker OLB

Tracey Linton OL

Issac Perez OL


Lodamien Calhoun WR

Carnealus Manning OL

Tyrese Basley OL

Brandon Davis DE

Alex Flores OL

Princeton Davis WR

Omar Essix DE

Thomas Johnson OL

Kevondre Black DT

Edward Coleman S

Darrion McLean OL

Quintrillo Williams WR

Chris Esqueda K


(1) comment

Paul Arevalo

What? No #4 from Rudder didn't make any of the 2016 18-5A All District Football Teams? Not 1st Team, 2nd Team or HM? All the Preseason hype by the media, the favoritism given to him by Will (former Rudder HC) and his coaching staff all season long. The superlatives used to describe his play? I guess favoritism and politics lost out this time. [wink][wink]

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.