AUSTIN -- Donnis Baggett, former publisher and editor of The Eagle, is among three people with a history of dedication to journalism chosen to be inducted into the Texas Newspaper Foundation Hall of Fame.

Baggett, John William "Bill" Cooke and the late Barney Hubbs will be honored Jan. 25 at the Texas Press Association Convention and Trade Show in Denton.

Baggett is executive vice president of the Texas Press Association. His career also included stops at The Dallas Morning News and the Waco Tribune-Herald.

Cooke started in the print shop of his family's newspaper, The Rockdale Reporter. He later became editor and publisher.

Hubbs started at the Reeves County Record. He co-founded The Pecos Gusher, which merged with the Pecos Enterprise. Hubbs founded the Ector County News -- a forerunner of the Odessa American -- plus co-owned radio stations in Texas, Colorado and New Mexico.

Hubbs died in 1993.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.