The May 6 city elections in Hearne will go on despite the City Council's failure to formally set the date and the ballot.

During its Feb. 7 meeting the council deadlocked on ordering the general election because the motion to set the date, made by Councilman Rodrick Jackson, did not mention the potential recall election against him that would have been held on the same day. Robertson County Elections Administrator Ray Rodriguez said the Hearne City Council and school board elections will go on as planned, but the recall election won't appear on the ballot. 

Rodriguez said special elections need to follow the Texas Secretary of State's election calendar, which says Feb. 17 was the last date to order a general election or election on a measure. For the general election, though, the state election code states that an entity's failure to order a general election doesn't affect the validity of the election. The city also has to follow provisions that require joint elections for school district trustees on the same date as the election for members of the governing body of a municipality located in the school district, he said. 

Three seats are up for election on the Hearne City Council. Longtime Mayor Ruben Gomez is being challenged by someone already familiar with the position -- former mayor Milton "Tweety" Johnson. For the Place 3 seat, Councilman Emmett Aguirre will defend his seat against Ola Foster Redmon. Former Councilwoman LaShunda White, who lost her Place 2 seat to Jackson by a handful of votes last May, will run against Councilwoman Shirley Harris for her Place 5 seat.

For the Hearne board of trustees, board president James Taylor is being challenged for his Place 3 seat by Sheridan Ely. The Place 4 seat is being sought by Michael Washington, former Hearne Elementary School Principal Brodrick McGrew and Donya Moore. That place currently is held by Samantha Salazar, who was arrested in January on fraud charges after officials said she stole $11,790 worth of scratch-off tickets from a Bryan convenience store where she worked.

Trustee Mary Jane Ramirez will seek to keep her Place 7 seat against write-in candidates Karan Elliott and Jonathan Mckay. 

Early voting is April 24 through April 28, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Hearne Depot, and continues May 1 and 2 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Election Day in Hearne is May 6 at the same location from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Get daily news, sports, opinions, entertainment and more, delivered every morning.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.